Red Radio Button

By Cathy R. Taylor Croizier ©2017 Casey Teeter All Rights Reserved

I wake in cold sweat terror
from the red of the radio button
in front of me waiting
recording my vote forever

Sisters of Another Mother
I call to you frightened

Selecting ‘yes’ I speak
For what little I can do
You, on the front line
You, hold my respect
my prayers
my worry and my fears
in your hands
As I sit muffled and muzzled
staring at the button
terrified to let it fly from my sight
Fear that it will bring down upon me
that which rains upon you
That you take so willingly

Oh the courage

Oh my Sisters of Another Mother
Would that my skin was not called white
Would that the colours of my
soul actually shine through

Sisters of Another Mother
You stand and fight beside our brother
I call you from this wicked bed
that gives me comfort
as our land turns red
My body infirm
by wounds of other battles

I cannot run with you
Yet I howl for many years
Shedding the tears
of this day

I cannot stand with you
In the name of freedom
save for the courage
to press this red-radio button

And I do
Sisters of Another Mother
I have let my voice-vote fly
that it can comfort you in the cold
Fighting for all souls

Let it carry the gratitude
for your youth, strength
conviction and power
Let it quickly end the days of torment
Now and forever

You are not alone
You carry the world beside you
even those too weak to speak
in assent

Would that I were not white
Condemned by the term
I scream from my colourful deep
I am NOT WHITE
I AM
A Pink Woman
I am mottled marble
arising from the oppression of PR
Programmed and drugged silence
I am drummer dancer
the tree have called me daughter
I am silence, now voiced

Sisters of Another Mother
You are not alone
We walk the night to truth
as Mother Earth
courses her anguish through our feet
rising our tears until they choke
our screams of shame
for not being enough

I am Pink
Is it enough
To grant passage
To well-received words
of Gratitude.

By Cathy R. Taylor Croizier ©2017 Casey Teeter All Rights Reserved

This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

